Shilajit Resin vs Capsules: Compare Blends and Testing
Michael HoferShilajit resin vs capsules is mostly a question of how the serving is measured and what else is in it. A resin is portioned by you from a jar, while a capsule holds a set amount. To compare them fairly, write down the shilajit weight per serving, every other active ingredient and its amount, and what each brand states about testing. A resin and a capsule with the same shilajit weight can still be different products.
Key takeaways
- Compare shilajit weight per serving first, using the serving size and servings per day on each label.
- Some products are shilajit alone and some combine it with other herbs or minerals. List every active with its amount and compare like with like.
- Published lab studies of shilajit samples disagree on heavy metals, so record what each brand says about testing and whether it offers a certificate of analysis.
What shilajit is, and why labels differ
Shilajit is a dark, soft natural material used in traditional medicine. A 2025 review in Critical Reviews in Analytical Chemistry says its chemical composition is not known with certainty and that its source is debated: some believe it forms from dead plant residues, others that it is a mineral that slowly seeps from rocks. The same review says more than 80% of shilajit's weight is mainly humic substances and almost 20% is calcium, potassium and magnesium, with differences between samples from different regions.
Because the raw material varies, two labels that both say "shilajit" may not describe the same thing. That is why the label lines matter more than the format.
Resin, capsules and other formats
Shilajit is sold as a resin in a jar, as capsules or tablets, and in gummies or drink mixes. The format changes how you measure a serving, not what you need to write down.
- Resin. Check whether the label gives the serving as a weight, in milligrams or grams, and how it tells you to measure that amount. If the serving is measured by eye or with a scoop, the amount you take can differ from the amount on the label.
- Capsules or tablets. The serving is set by the number of units. If a serving is two capsules, the label amount covers both.
- Gummies and mixes. These often add other ingredients. Read the whole Supplement Facts panel, not only the shilajit line.
How to compare the label lines
The FDA labeling guide for dietary supplements says a company may list the constituents of a dietary ingredient indented under that ingredient, followed by their amounts by weight per serving. On shilajit labels you will usually see one or more of these lines:
- Shilajit or shilajit extract, in milligrams. This is a complete amount you can compare with the same kind of line on another label. Compare extract weight with extract weight, and resin weight with resin weight.
- A percentage for a named compound group, such as fulvic acid. Write down the name and the percentage as printed, and compare it only with a label that uses the same term. A label without a percentage is not missing its amount; it gives the shilajit weight instead.
- A trade name for the shilajit ingredient. Write it down as printed. A trade name tells you which supplier's ingredient is used, not how much is in a serving.
Shilajit alone or in a combination
Some products contain only shilajit. Others pair it with other herbs, minerals or vitamins. Neither is a fair or unfair choice in itself; they are different products. List every active ingredient with its amount per serving, so you compare the shilajit line with the shilajit line and see the rest of the formula clearly. Some labels group ingredients in a blend with one total weight. In that case, write down the blend total as printed, and note that the amounts inside the blend are not stated.
A combination also matters for your daily total. If a product adds minerals such as zinc or magnesium, add those amounts to any other supplements you take that contain the same nutrients.
A simple record for each label
| Label line | What to write down |
|---|---|
| Format and serving | Resin weight per serving, or units per serving, and servings per day |
| Shilajit weight | Milligrams of shilajit or shilajit extract, as printed |
| Named percentage | The compound group named and its percentage, or "no percentage stated" |
| Other actives | Each added ingredient and its amount, or "shilajit only" |
| Testing statement | The brand's exact words about outside testing |
| Certificate of analysis | Offered, on request, or not mentioned |
Testing and heavy metals
Lab studies of shilajit samples have reached different results on metals. A 2026 study in the Journal of Trace Elements in Medicine and Biology tested 12 shilajit samples from different regions and found clear variation in their metals; it reported that the toxic metals it measured were below established toxicity thresholds. A 2022 study in Biological Trace Element Research tested the two kinds of shilajit it describes as the most sold worldwide, from India and Pakistan, and reported lead, arsenic, mercury and other elements above the standard permissible limit. A 2024 review in the same journal found that most reported metal levels in shilajit were below permissible limits, except in a few studies, and its authors say shilajit consumption without knowing permissible levels of metals is not safe.
The 2022 study describes shilajit as an Ayurvedic medicine. The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) says some Ayurvedic preparations may contain lead, mercury or arsenic in amounts that can be toxic, and that the U.S. Food and Drug Administration warns that the presence of metals in some Ayurvedic products makes them potentially harmful.
A label alone cannot show what a batch contains. NCCIH says that when a manufacturer calls a product "standardized," "verified" or "certified," that term alone does not necessarily mean the product is of consistent quality. The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements says several independent organizations offer quality testing and let products that pass display a seal, and names ConsumerLab.com, NSF International and U.S. Pharmacopeia. The same page says these seals indicate the product was properly manufactured, contains the ingredients listed on the label and does not contain harmful levels of contaminants, and that a seal is not proof that a product is safe or effective. For each product, record what the brand says it tests for, such as heavy metals, and whether it offers a certificate of analysis (a batch test report). If a brand does not post one, that tells you the report is not public; it does not tell you the product was untested.
Safety: what to know before you start
NCCIH says that if you have a health condition, you should talk with your health care provider before using Ayurvedic products, and that if you are pregnant or nursing you should consult your health care provider, as some Ayurvedic products may contain products that could be harmful. NCCIH also says dietary supplements may interact with your medications or pose risks if you have certain medical problems or are going to have surgery. Follow the serving size on the label, and bring the label to your health care provider if you take other supplements or medicines.
Frequently asked questions about shilajit resin vs capsules
Is shilajit resin different from shilajit capsules?
The main differences are how the serving is measured and what else the product contains. A resin is portioned from a jar, while a capsule holds a set amount. Compare the shilajit weight per serving, the other active ingredients and the brand's testing statement, rather than the format alone.
How do I compare a resin serving with a capsule serving?
Use the weight per serving that each label states, in milligrams or grams, and the number of servings per day. Compare shilajit with shilajit, and list any other active ingredients separately. If the resin label does not give a weight, the shilajit amount per serving is not stated.
Does a shilajit label need a fulvic acid percentage?
No. A label that gives the shilajit or shilajit extract weight per serving gives a complete amount you can compare with other labels of the same form. A fulvic acid percentage is extra detail, and it can only be compared with the same term on another label.
Can shilajit contain heavy metals?
Published lab studies disagree. A 2026 study of 12 shilajit samples reported toxic metals below established toxicity thresholds, while a 2022 study of shilajit from India and Pakistan reported lead, arsenic and mercury above permissible limits. A 2024 review found most reported levels below permissible limits, except in a few studies. Check what each brand says about testing for heavy metals.
What is a certificate of analysis for shilajit?
A certificate of analysis is a test report for a batch of a product. Some brands post one or send it on request. Record whether a brand offers one and what it says it tests for, such as heavy metals. A report that is not public does not by itself mean a product was untested.
Related reading
- Shilajit: Five Formulas Compared
- Fish Oil Testing: How to Check a Product’s Certification
- Ashwagandha Root Powder vs Extract: Compare Labels Fairly
Sources
- Critical Reviews in Analytical Chemistry: A Comprehensive Review on Shilajit: What We Know about Its Chemical Composition, 2025.
- Journal of Trace Elements in Medicine and Biology: Characterization of metal composition and molecular weight distribution in Shilajit, 2026.
- Biological Trace Element Research: Rapid Determination and Quantification of Nutritional and Poisonous Metals in Vastly Consumed Ayurvedic Herbal Medicine (Rejuvenator Shilajit) by Humans Using Three Advanced Analytical Techniques, 2022.
- Biological Trace Element Research: Hazardous or Advantageous: Uncovering the Roles of Heavy Metals and Humic Substances in Shilajit (Phyto-mineral) with Emphasis on Heavy Metals Toxicity and Their Detoxification Mechanisms, 2024.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health: Ayurvedic Medicine: In Depth, updated 2019.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Dietary Supplement Labeling Guide: Chapter IV. Nutrition Labeling, 2005.
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements: Dietary Supplements: What You Need to Know, updated 2023.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health: Using Dietary Supplements Wisely, updated 2019.
TopCertified Supplement Analysis and CuraMyHealth share ownership through Hofer LLC. CuraMyHealth products appear in our comparisons, and we benefit when they are purchased.
If you are pregnant, nursing or trying to conceive, ask your healthcare provider before use.
This article is for education and is not personal medical advice. Individual results vary.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.